The Godfather by Mario Puzo

the-godfather.jpg

The Godfather: Summary by Goodreads

The Godfather—the epic tale of crime and betrayal that became a global phenomenon.

Almost fifty years ago, a classic was born. A searing portrayal of the Mafia underworld, The Godfather introduced readers to the first family of American crime fiction, the Corleones, and their powerful legacy of tradition, blood, and honor. The seduction of power, the pitfalls of greed, and the allegiance to family—these are the themes that have resonated with millions of readers around the world and made The Godfather the definitive novel of the violent subculture that, steeped in intrigue and controversy, remains indelibly etched in our collective consciousness.

mangaarticle9

My Review:

Honestly, The Godfather was quite intimidating. It was a completely unfamiliar genre for me, but somebody recommended to me, so I tried to read it. I usually stick with young adult books (contemporary/fiction/fantasy), but somebody recommended this book to me.

This book was crafted beautifully. Mario Puzo captured the desires of human beings perfectly without it being to obvious (he let the readers draw their own conclusions). However, since it was my first time reading anything other than young adult, it was hard for me to finish the book. I had extremely long pauses in between due to the fact that I was unable to understand what the characters were talking about (mafia business talk). However, other than that, it was basically perfect. The setting descriptions painted pictures of Italy and Long Beach in my head, and the scenes were SO action packed that I was barely able to keep up with the words. Even until the ending were there twists and turns to keep my hanging. I actually wanted to be part of an Italian mafia after this book. I aspire to be as generous as the Don. All in all, I give this book a 4.5/5 👍 . Maybe because it was my first adult fiction book, it was near perfection in my eyes due to the realistic characters full of human desires and the action packed storyline with the addition of a beautiful setting. Definitely recommend to the older generation or even the younger ones that are mature enough. I don’t believe that you’re not allowed to read a certain type of book because “you’re too young” if you think you are mature enough. Actually, I think the charm of this book is the raw language and description of the scenes. The fact that Puzo doesn’t hold back on the scenes is one of the many reasons I loved this book.

Leave a Reply

